Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Newbie seeks synth recomendations

jack11211

Hi:

I am looking for recomendations on which synth to purchase in the range of $1000 or less. I am completely new to the world of synths, although I've played guitar for about 12 years and I had a piano at home as a kid.

There are two reasons I want a synth. First, I would like to augment my "home studio" recordings with a lot of other realistic sounding "instruments" (mainly orchestral and brass sounds al la early Moody Blues, and some piano and drum sounds). For the record, I have a PC with Cakewalk Pro Audio 8.1 (if that helps in your recomendations).

Second, I love playing music and wouldn't mind becomming a bit proficient with another instrument. I am not a professional musician...just an avid hobbiest. However, I am not looking for one of those "toy" keyboards you get at Sears...I want a serious instrument that sounds good and will enable me to grow as a musician and will be a great addition to a home studio and suitable for live applications.

I would also like the synth to be expandable (so I'm not always stuck with the same sounds) and midi compatable. Don't really need weighted keys though.

I've been giving the Roland XP-30 serious consideration, especially since (in my opinion) it has great sounding brass and orchestral sounds, along with a bunch of other patches that I could use and it's expandable. Plus, most of the reviews I've seen have been good.

However, the XP-30 has a few things I'm concerned about for the simple reason that I've heard some caveats from other musicians:

1. I hear the standard piano patches aren't that great (although I could fix this with an expansion card, right? And are the standard piano sounds really that awful?).

2. It "only" has a one stereo out jacks (How many do I need? Why would I need more?)