Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Best Orchestral/String/Solo Samples-UnityDS-1/Miroslav/Virtuoso2000/Kurzweil Orch.ROM

dturner

Hello All,

I really need your advice and opinions. I am a guitarist and have put together my first "real" project studio consisting of a new mac G4 running DIGI001 with various Korg, Emu, and Roland modules and keyboards. http://www.geocities.com/turnerresearch/guitar is a little site I created to share [ok... show off] the first output from my studio - a few mellow, romantic guitar performances in a Johnny Smith vein.

I would like to invest about a grand, and end up with some really outstanding string ensemble, orchestral, piano, and solo instrument timbres. From what I've learned so far, the best routes are in the subject line. I am leaning toward a K2000R [i have extra SCSI CD ROM and hard drives] with Orchestral ROM and appropriate memory upgrades. I have downloaded samples from various sites, and the Miroslav demos floored me. So I could start with the Orchestral ROM and later add a Miroslav CD. The demos from EMU and Bitzhead are "very nice", but just did not make my jaw drop like the Miroslav demos.

I should also mention that I am a preset guy [real keyboard players converging on my location - SHIELDS UP!] Truly, I would like to be able to fire up my system, and be ready to go in a few minutes - when I have a few minutes. Music for me is an avocation and form of therapy, so the high end, high maintenance gear is not for me.

So... for all you "real" composers and keyboard artists out there.... what can teach me about what I've envisioned so far? Am I on the right track [K2000R] or do the EMU and DS-1 demos not represent the real quality of the gadgets they.... um... represent [sorry.... Austin Powers moment there]

Any advice will be welcomed.

Best Regards,

Dennis Turner

Cedarville, Ohio