Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Pitch bend/mod wheel techinque

dansouth

How would you rate your pitch bend and mod wheel technique?

5 - Move over, Jan Hammer!!

4 - Got that technique DOWN!

3 - I get the job done.

2 - Crude but effective.

1 - Well, I can always edit the data in a sequencer.

0 - I never touch those stupid things; I am a PIANIST!

And what kind of controller do you prefer? Wheels? Joysticks? Alternate or custom controllers?

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

no question, 1...I suck if I may say so.

but when it comes to programming the synth, I would give myself a 4! http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

I prefer the 3 wheels on my Yamaha SY99 over anything else, although a touchpad is cool, as is the Clavia pitchstick.

Go tell someone you love that you love them.

Varies between 3 and 4, depending how much I've used it lately. Right now-3

Using Korg joysticks now, but I prefer the wheels. Which makes me wonder; Why don't synth makers or some aftermarket gadget makers offer a small outboard box with left hand controllers? Something you could clamp onto the side of the keyboard. That way you could buy a synth for it's sound without having to re-learn pitch bending techniques.

Peace all,

Steve

><>

Steve

I thought I'd reply and open up the topic a little more, if thats ok.

I think I am 3 + or - depending on the day, the patch and context. I think I do much better emulating pitch bending on blown (sax, shawm) instruments than plucked (guitar, sarod) type pitch bends. I don't have a synth pitch bend per se, or if I do, it is mostly like a shawm or oboe voice.

Here are some questions that have occupied me. I'd love any input.

What intervals to use?

What types of pitch bends to build the idiom around (up, down, up & down, upt to pitch, up to trill, etc.)