Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Hanon and independence

Magpel

Diversion, diversion. Waking up with a curious and anaesthetized feeling that yesterday simply couldn't have happened.

Anyway, as I've mentioned in previous posts, I've been pursuing a program of (re)building myself as a keyboardist (I'm a guitarist). I'm trying to do it right, rather than hunting and pecking my way through as I've always done, and one component of my current regimen is the Hanon exercises. They are certainly good exercises for finger strength, eveneness, left and right hand equality, but the text in the book (circa 1900) claims that independence is a another technical virtue that will result from doing the exercises, and I just don't get it. Granted I'm not a yet a third through the book, but I can't imagine how this is developing independence apart from teaching me how to play the same locked-in pattern with different fingerings for each hand. When I think of independence, I think of true liberty of the hands, kinda of a brain thing more than a finger thing. More precisely a brain-finger thing. So: was Hanon full of it on this count? and B) recommendations for developing independence? BTW, I'm enjoying my practice immensely, working on my fingers, re-teaching myself harmony, working on a couple of classical pieces. Just loving it. Cross my fingers that the daily discipline survives.

John

Check out the Sweet Clementines CD at bandcamp

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I never thought of Hanon as anything other than strengthening (though you can do a lot to make them less boring using accents, etc.).

My first inclination is to point you at Bach's inventions and fugues. Two and Three part inventions, hand-by-hand, are usually not technically difficult, but putting them together will definitely give you a run for your money and promote independence. From there you can move up to the Well Tempered Clavier, etc.