Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

home studio stuff

I've recently aquired a small, but surprisingly effective, Boss BR-532 to do demo recordings and whatnot. Not being a recording engineer by trade, I'm still getting my feet wet in this whole process, but I've been impressed with the results I've acheived on virtually everything I've recorded. Except for one thing.... Vocals..... I've been having difficulty placing the vocals into a "space"... everything sounds too up front for my taste. Lowering the volume simply, well, lowers the volume, and doesn't place the vocals into the mix tactfully. The closest I've come has invoved drenching the vocals in reverb, which although placing the vocals into a space, sounds too artifical and ill suited for my purposes.... My chain consists of mic, small mixer, compressor, to the Boss. Is this something that could be acheived with a decent preamp, or is there some sort of EQ technique that I'm missing. I realize this may seem like a vague question, so I'll sum it up this way...In the professional world, how do acheive that vital volume/space mix?

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply
What kind of mic are you using? Dynamic cardioid mics all have proximity effect which give it a big bass boost when you sing close to the mic which could make it sound too up front. Most pop vocals don't have a lot of bottom to them. You might want to first try singing 6-12 inches from the mic and see if it helps. It would be a good starting point anyway. Hope this helps.

Yeah, let us know what mic it is and I think we can help you better. Lincoln Ross Dead Black Jedis

"All conditioned things are impermanent. Work out your own salvation with diligence."

The Buddha's Last Words

R.I.P. RobT