Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Pedals- 1,2, or 3

stratman_dup1

Hey all- I'm really curious to hear your pro opinion on something here. As many of you probably know I'm a newbie piano player and have been looking at weighted keyboards for some time know. I currently own a 61 key synth action board which is good for some things but learning the piano isn't one of them.I'm also getting into several octave scale runs and the 61 key board is getting to be a drag as well. On to my question.

I have been eyeing up the Yamaha P-80 but as far as I can tell it only has one pedal input, that being a sustain pedal. On a Piano there are three pedals, Damper, sustain, and quite honestly I don't know what the other one does yet. I guess my question is if I get a board that only allows for one or even two pedal inputs (I believe the Kurz PC2X does)will I be shortchanging myself when I get to more advanced things that utilize all the pedals on a real piano?? I'm very serious about music, and learning the piano, but can't afford a real piano plus much of my practice time is at night when an acoustic piano is not an option.

So to summirize, are their any digital pianos or synths out there that have a weighted 88 key bed and all three pedal inputs other than the "home" variety?? Do I really need all three pedals to play good expressive piano?? My guess is yes BTW.

I am trying to stay away from the "Home" variety of digital pianos because even though I don't have any plans on being a gigging piano/synth player who can say what the future holds. Who knows that in 3 or 4 years I won't want to be a gigging piano player and will therefore need a gig worthy board??

Thanks for any and all opinions.

Phil.

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

On a Piano there are three pedals, Damper, sustain, and quite honestly I don't know what the other one does yet.