Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Beginner wants to create MUSIC!

Shawn

Hello,

I've been listening to electronic music for over a year now... and I've recently developed an interest in creating some of my own. I'm absolutely fascinated by the idea of producing live - real time music on the fly - having control of the beats and sound at my fingertips, vs. spinning or tweaking music that others create.

So - I'm thinking about investing about $500 to get started. I'm an absolute beginner.. I mean, I used to play the sax in high school, and a tiny bit of piano during my elementary years, heck, this is the first time I've even looked up information about this stuff. So - what I want to know is where do I start? I'd thinking about purchasing a cool arse used keyboard/synthesizer and getting some software/hardware for my computer (I'm a EE and a computer geek so this is good).

I want my initial investment to be something I can build upon if I realize that I'm really into this, or I find that I'm good at it, but I also want it to be something fairly easy to use. In my free time during the next year or so I don't want to be learning extremely complex software features - I want to make MUSIC - so I guess I'm looking for recommendations on powerful equipment and software with a fairly easy learning curve and documentation/websites that are designed for beginners like myself.

Should I put the entire investment into a good synthesizer? Which one? Where will I get the best deal? I'd like to be able to store short sections of music/beats and repeat them... finally sending the information to my computer and making Mp3's someday if I get good...

What types of features should I be looking for if I'm purely interested in techno music?

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply