Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Is sound programming a dying art?

I have seen on other forums that people are asking for keyboards with sounds that are good and have not been "rinsed" and overused.

I started with synths in the analog days. You had to tweak the knobs between every song and even in the middle if you should have another sound for the chorus. (we all remember Moogs, Roland SH, Korg MS, don't we?)

I'm still doing this programming and personalize my sounds.

Nowadays with digital pieces loaded with RAM's, and you have a tremendous amount of sounds available, it seems like the new keyboardists does not like to tweak.

But maybe we'll see some changes with the revivel of analog synths?

What's your opinion?

------------------

--Smedis,--

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

OK, I'll date myself here just so you don't think I'm a newbie. My first synth was an ARP Odyssey, and I bought it when ARP was still making them! Anyway, that beast wouldn't even stay in tune, much less make any musically useful sound, unless you knew how to program it.

As synths became polyphonic and programmable, I pretty much kept up with it, and always had the machine full of my own sounds. I think I may have been the only DX7 owner in my hometown who could actually program it. But even then I was developing a tendency to start with a sound that was close to what I wanted, so I would only have to tweak it.

Then synths became even more complex, and started coming with disc drives and sound libraries. Like most other keyboardists, I found that it was much easier to sort through a large library of sounds and load in what I liked. I still understand the technology well enough to make minor adjustments until it fits me just right. But as was mentioned above, every synth made now comes loaded with just about every sound (or at least type of sound) that you need to make music, and customizing is quick and painless.