Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

* HELP 1-man-show dude get started - THANKS! *

LiveMusic

I appreciate anyone giving me advice. I'm going through midlife crisis and decided I'm a wannabe musician. Just something I want to do. Music makes me happy. I have played acoustic guitar off and on for 35 years. Played a little piano and high school band drums as a child. Now taking up electric guitar and also, piano... again. And harmonica. I have my hands full. http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/wink.gif

I have three ways I could go.

1. One-man totally-live party dude: acoustic guitar, harmonica, percussion with feet, vocals.

2. One-man totally-live band as above but throw in a keyboard for live keyboard songs.

3. One-man band, not TOTALLY live, as I would use sequencing? to achieve a richer sound. (Zero experience with the sequencing stuff. Just bought a Yamaha PSR740.)

4. Join a band. I have a pretty good voice for some types of music. I figure singers (who can also play guitar) are in decent demand.

At minimum, I figure I'll work up a solo act to do parties and just have fun. If any money comes my way, great. I figure it will take me six months of diligent work to build a solo act. Maybe longer since I have to "learn" electric guitar licks and stuff. And piano, keyboards, harmonica. Ugh... lots!

I have reservations about doing anything that is NOT 100% live. After all, my handle is "LiveMusic!" BUT... and this is important... I recognize that a richer sound is pleasing to people. Heck, it's pleasing to me! And I realize that a huge part of the equation for the public is entertainment. Pure and simple. Having fun. And a rich, full sound is entertaining. Of course, totally live is entertaining, too but in a different way.