Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

First & last synth/sampler/keyboard advice

This is similar but not identical to previous threads: I'm a guitarist/bass player with no MIDI experience using Protools Dig001 including Sample Cell who needs a keyboard/synth for my home studio for all kinds of sounds which seem to be found in almost every workstation or module I've tried like the Korg, Roland, and the Emu sound modules. Some sounds on these are good but many like guitar and horn sounds are not so great. Recall I do have Digi's Sample Cell which is decent. I compose rock, funk, metal, mood, jazz tunes and record to CD at home.

My budget for this keyboard/soundmodule/rack/synth/sampler tops at $3000 (US)and my priorities in choosing equipment are sound quality and ease of use. Would you recommend:

• For sound sources do you suggest CD-ROMs (which ain't cheap) or the plug-in expansion cards made for the sample/workstation/synths like Roland or Korg? Are the sounds on these expansion board as good as sample CD-ROMs?
  • Midimaster keyboard (like Fatar or Roland A90)) and a rack unit like Roland XV-5030 or 5080, Korg Triton?
  • midimaster keyboard and sound module(s) like Emu Proteus 2000 and better outboard samper such as ESI-2000 or other recommendation?
  • Roland XP-30, 60, 80 or XV-88 or Korg Trinity with it's expandable sound cards? I'm open to other brands but know less about Yamaha, Oberheim, Emu/ensoniq, etc.

Thanks for any advice.

This message has been edited by Jim S on 03-11-2001 at 02:08 PM

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply