Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

piano as second instrument..best way to learn ?

vudoo

I'm a drummer who also does scoring, producing....i want to get some suggestions from you keyboard players out there as what video/books i should check out to improve my piano playing skills.

i have no problems with harmony and music theory in general ( anyways, from what i can remember from my years of music in college ), but i'm sure there's always more to learn in this area.

Basically, i need to improve my piano playing ability in order to lay down my ideas with less fustration...Thanks

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

vudoo:

I would recommend some lessons. See, there's a gazillion things with piano: finger shape, arm position, technique, etc., that I don't think can be leaned from books. From the tenor of your post, I'd say you probably got most of what the books are going to offer, now it's time to have a human correct the things that will improve your skills. Remember: no book can show you HOW you are doing it wrong, and once a bad habit is picked up, it's the very devil to get rid of. Believe me, that's experience talking there.

Setup: Korg Kronos 61, Roland XV-88, Korg Triton-Rack, Motif-Rack, Korg N1r, Alesis QSR, Roland M-GS64 Yamaha KX-88, KX76, Roland Super-JX, E-Mu Longboard 61, Kawai K1II, Kawai K4.

I second the suggestion about getting lessons. If you don't want to go the classical route, you'll probably be able to find a decent jazz/pop teacher by talking to the people at your local music store.

The other part of the equation is, practice every day. If you don't have a decent-sounding keyboard with a good keyboard action, get one somehow. (A nice piano still can't be beat!) The way to develop keyboard chops is not to flail around, it's to go through your scales and exercises on a regular basis, work on the pieces your teacher assigns until you've got them cold, etc.

--Jim Aikin

Vuudoo