Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Are synths inherently out of tune?

Wiggum

Hey all,

I read an interview several years ago (Donald Fagen, Keyboard Magazine) which bothers me to this day.

Donald made the claim that synths are horribly out of tune. He once bought a Roland FP-9 digital piano, as it was the only instrument that he found to be IN tune. He also claimed that vocalists sometimes complain of a "chorused effect" when singing with synths (due to their out of tune nature).

Is this complete crap, or is their some validity to this? I'm not a pro musician, I don't have perfect pitch, and I've never had the opportunity to work with a singer or an acoustic player, so I have never experienced this problem. You would think that if it were true, it would get a lot more publicity. And BTW, I don't think he was referring to patches that use microtonality or other pitch scaling tricks.

Any thoughts?

Wiggum

BTW, for the younger folks, Don Fagen is the keyboard half of Steely Dan.

This message has been edited by Wiggum on 02-12-2001 at 10:44 PM

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply
If memory serves correctly (and it might not: Getting old sucks!) Japanese manufactured synths tune to A444 as opposed to A440. Therefore, American manufactured synths and their Japanese counterparts would be just slightly out of tune.
Setup: Korg Kronos 61, Roland XV-88, Korg Triton-Rack, Motif-Rack, Korg N1r, Alesis QSR, Roland M-GS64 Yamaha KX-88, KX76, Roland Super-JX, E-Mu Longboard 61, Kawai K1II, Kawai K4.

Most synthesizers are too MUCH in tune might be a better way of saying it.

A real piano that was "perfectly" tuned would sound awful. That's why they are stretch tuned. There is also the issue of temperment. I remember some old Yamaha DX series synths that allowed you to pick the tempering you wanted.