Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How do you do drums?

Dave Bryce

So, how do you capture your drums? What do you use for sounds?

I use mostly either an Alesis DM Pro, or the Stratus Stereo Session Drums CD for the Kurz.

I usually start by playing the drums into the sequencer in realtime from the keyboard. Sometimes I do it in one pass, sometimes I overdub. Occasionally, I use the DM Pro kit pads or an SPD-11; but, by and large, I'm a better keyboard drummer.

I tend to try and play the parts in real time. I don't like working in patterns, nor do I use step entry...I just don't think like that.

If I don't like what I did on drums, then I get a drummer to come over and play on the pads. Actually, I almost always prefer to get a real actual drummer to play - I like making music with other musicians. Hooray for electronic drum pads - you sit, you play...no muss, no fuss.

Sometimes I start with a loop or two (I tend to roll my own loops using DP and assorted sound generating devices), but I almost always put realtime drums down as well.

As a rule, I try to avoid quantizing, too...gotta capture the feel...

I'd love to hear how other people are doing their drums.

dB

:snax:

:keys:==> David Bryce Music • Funky Young Monks <==:rawk:

Professional Affiliations: Royer LabsMusic Player Network

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply