Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How do you learned what you know of audio?

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Everything I ever learned from recording came from reading and then applying what I read. However with one exception: Compression. Never understood the concept until I saw my friend use one. It became my favorite dynamic processor and effect. From having worked in recording studios, I think the best experience to learn is to get some time with real engineers and see how they work. Nothing like watching a pro do their thing. The only problem is that studios only want experienced assistants/interns or people they know. If you can`t get into the studio, you will not believe how much Recording and Electronic Musician can and will teach you. Peace, Ernest

Mostly self taught. It also helps that a technical mindset runs in my family. Outside of that, the only schooling I had was the Recording Workshop in Chillicothe, OH, back in the mid-80's; my first day, during the first lecture, is where I had my major "A-HA!" moment. The rest was polishing up the details.
I've upped my standards; now, up yours.

I got tossed behind a console at the age of 19 cuz I had some electronics knowledge. from there it was all trial by fire. Alot of reading, alot of asking stupid questions(cuz asking a stupid question is better than making a stupid mistake), and alot of years doing what I love. After 25 years in this business, I still learn something new almost everyday. Hope this is helpful.

Hope this is helpful.

NP Recording Studios

Analog approach to digital recording.