Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

MY FIRST MICROPHONE...SUGGESTIONS???

GOOD evening,

i need to know what type of microphone i should buy....i'm a novice starting out in this recording tip.....until now, i've used one of those shi*ty microphones that come with an Aiwa Stereo System (to karaoke sing i guess).....but i dont really like the sound.....the microphone was a

Sanyo HM-55 (does anyone know about this type of mic? ) but i'm looking to buy a good microphone now that will deliver a good sound....i dont wanna spend a lot of money on one though....a good, decent mic that records well will do the trick......

does anyone have any suggestions for types of microphones i should use? (brand name and model)

Also, i'm recording rap mostly......so all i need to do is capture the vocals...no instruments...

Dr Dre uses a Sony C800G.....do u know if this mic is good?

OR what do you suggest is good?

i'd appreciate anyone's professional help....thanks

"Los niños escuchan el 'rap'...que les daña el cerebro"

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'd suggest a Shure SM-57. It's good for vocals, electric guitar, drums... pretty much anything. You can get them for under $80 most places. It's a good mic for learning the importance of mic placement, too.

-Matt M

sm-57s are the best, definitely most value for $$.

now seriously, no rapper in history has ever used that mic. a few dollars more is the shure sm-58, a good handheld vocal mic. it's not a lot better than the 57, but hand any singer or mc one of each they'll all take the 58, because it looks better.

seriously.

yo everyone thanks a lot for your help......

yeah some other dude i met recommended that shure sm-57.....

so it must be pretty good, but damn, 80 bucks seems a little steep....