Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Re: Popular Music Production (If it's so easy)

I'd have to say, on every board I've been to, there is always the comment about how easy it is to make BSB, or Britney, or Babyface, Timbaland, or Neptunes-style tracks. How there's nothing to it. And as has been said a million times by half a million people: then let me see you do it. I'm not saying that you can't. And I'm not saying that it's rocket science. But what I am saying is that, "a simple plan", like the movie, is a lot more involved than it seems.

I know people that have tried to make tracks like (insert producer's name here), and they nowhere near approach the quality of that producer/act. And the others who say that they wouldn't lower themselves to do a song like that either aren't up to the challenge, or it's just not in them. And that's okay. But until you try to do it...don't say it's so easy.

Because I'm not an artist, just a producer who loves both good music and good production, I don't mind lowering myself to mimicking other's production. 80% of my clients come to me for my own "brand" of music production, but I do get asked to do demos that feature "so and so's" style. I can emulate some of them quite well, but the hardest is the old Cheiron/Max Martin sound.

Do I have a problem with the teeny bopper sound, as was asked below? I think older *NSync, BSB, Britney, and Christina SINGLES (or tracks intended to be) are pretty killer for the most part. Especially "Shape of My Heart" and "Stronger". But whole albums? I don't think so. And I think the rest of the "copycat" acts suck (they're all copycats, hence the quotations). I don't like it generally. Fact is, I don't like a lot of genres generally. But a few acts/songs in each gives me the feeling that "it's all good".

Peace

If at first you don't succeed, keep on sucking 'til you do suck seed!

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply