Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Mic questions

I'm a rookie in recording, i would like to buy only a mic. What mic do you

think will be the best for vocals, aoustic and electric guitar, and brass and woodwinds(I hope i am not asking too much)? I would like something like the Sm58, sm57, beta 58, or bweta57, but which one? What about the AKG C1000S

Rebuilding My Self

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, first question is going to be, what's your budget?

I'd say that there's no single mic that is going to be ideal for every item on your list - what I'd choose for vocals would almost certainly differ from what I'd pick for a guitar amp or trumpet.

Probably the most versatile mic on your list is the Shure SM57.

Phil O'Keefe

Sound Sanctuary Recording

Riverside CA

http://members.aol.com/ssanctuary/index.html

pokeefe777@msn.com

Hmm. There's some pretty decent diversity in what you plan to record. Limiting my response to only what you put in your post, I would go with the SM57. It's a good workhorse mic that will almost certainly give you good results with vocals and electric guitar, and should give you workable results with the rest.

-Danny

I would not go with an SM57.. it's gonna suck ass on woodwins, acoustic guitar as well. Brass.. hmm not my kinda sound. Vocal? Yeah, if it's the rock type of vocal.. electric guitar? Yup! *Nothing* better here..

I hate the AKG 1000, but that's just me. I wouldn't use it even if my life depended on it...

I would go with something like an Oktave MK 219. It's gonna need phantom power though. Digital Village in UK is selling them at 99UK£.

One mic for everything is not a good idea, not even a U47 could swing it. The Oktava AND an SM57 will make a killer combo. Later ad a pair of small diaphragm condensers a'la Oktava MC012 and a few more dynamics, perhaps an AKG D112 as well. Then some ribbons, some more large diaphragm condersers, then... uhh..