Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Sort of a beat topic...

Hi all-

I did a search on this but couldn't really find what I was looking for. I have a pair of Tannoy SBM's. Personal opinions aside about the monitors, I don't know their power rating.

I know there are conflicting opinions about whether you should have a more/less powerful amp to drive your monitors but that's kinda what I'm curious about.

I've found an Alesis RA-100 super cheap but am not sure if a.) even though super cheap - fear that it'll make my Tannoy's sound worse than some of you already think they sound b.) Being a newbie, I'm thinking more is better - watts that is.

I cannot afford Bryston and the likes - so, if anyone knows of any older amps (or home stereo amps even) that I could possibly find cheap, please, let me in on the secret.

Off topic - I have just rediscovered Carole King's Tapestry and I'm a happy girl!

Thanks!

------------------

Jen H.

www.wondercrush.com

info@wondercrush.com

Jen H.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply
The main thing you want to avoid is under-powering your amp to the point where it clips. Clipping produces mucho high frequencies which at loud volume levels can smoke tweeters. I would think that RA-100s should be more than sufficient for studio monitoring purposes.

Hey..."Sort of a beat topic..."

Ha, ha...was that intentional?

Anyway...don't get totally hynotized by the hype of "big name" amps...like Bryston.

The buzz about Bryston's sounded good to me too, but in a multi-amp PA system I've seen half a dozen out of 10 new ones...shit the bed...and they were replaced by another "big name"...Crown...which so far, are doin' fine.

miroslav - miroslavmusic.com

"Just because it happened to you, it doesn't mean it's important."

So here's kind of a newbie question...