Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

DAT - R.I.P.

Just curious as to how many of you guys (or gals) out there still use Dats for anything.

As far as I'm concerned Dats are DEAD, and I don't really mind one bit...

I've been using Dats since 1989. I had a 15 bit casio machine that kinda sounded like crap. I owned a Nakamichi cassette deck (Dragon) that sounded better than that Dat machine !!!

The reason I'm knocking Dats is that recently I've been converting some of my old material, which is on Dat, over to HardDisk.

I have hundreds of old Dat tapes, and a good percentage of them are so fucked that they are basically useless. (Digital distortion all over the place etc.)

When they first came out with Dat, what was the expected life span of the tapes ?

I'm weary of playing back anything that was done more than 5 years ago.

Dat tapes are incompatible between certain manufacturer's machines, they use error correction schemes, tapes get stuck in machines, they basically suck...

I've mixed countless things to Dat over the years, but I'm glad that there are now other/better options out there.

Anyone else glad that Dats are Dead ?

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I used to have one of those Casio DAT recorders, and it was okay for doing live to 2 track remotes back in the late 80's, but hey, time and technology march on.

Most of my taoes still play back just fine - even the ones I did on the Casio. I think that out of all the DATs I have recorded over the years, I have had failures on maybe half a dozen tapes.