Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

calling sound artists around the world

im in my final year of Ontario College or Art and Design and im doing a pretty intense project that involves taking sounds from works of "public art" and using them in a composition. im looking for people who have access to some type of field recording equipment (dat, mini disc) who live in a city or town with a Henry Moore outdoor bronze sculpture. i know there are definitely Moores in London, Chicago, Vancouver, Singapore and parts of Scotland. i need sounds of these sculptures being struck by mallets or other percussion tools. any help with this would be greatly appreciated, and i would like to find a way to somehow compensate people who can contribute.

if you want to learn more about the project, goto http://www.dcn.ryerson.ca/~sgoetz/digitalia , check out the "art" page and read about Involuntary Response.

thanks

diGitaLia

------------------

-=| i.make..sound... |=-

-=| www.digitalianation.com |=-

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Somehow sounds cool, but also a bit Pythonesque...

(Brit accent) "Well, you can't just go about hitting statues with mallets then, can you? I mean, you hit Sophocles in the testicles...what sound did that produce?"

"Cisco Kid, was a friend of mine"

I believe that would be "OH SHIT !!!" http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/eek.gif

No accent...

This message has been edited by Khan Noonian Singh on 01-20-2001 at 02:14 AM

you is some funny guys...

ok here are some of the places in which these sculptures can be found:

Chicago - University of Chicago, Physics building "Nuclear Energy"

Vancouver - Queen Elizabeth Park "Knife Edge Two Piece" (also another version of this in the City of Westminster at the House of Lords - dont know if that's public property tho)

Guernica - Peace Park "Large Figure in Shelter"

Dallas - City Hall "Three Forms Vertebrea"

Singapore - Overseas Chinese Bank "Large Reclining Figure"