Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Engineers - musicians vs. non-musicians

Here's another question for you all:

Can a engineer without any musical background (self taught or classically trained) potentially perform their duties as well as one with similar technical chops but who also has the ability to play?

My personal thoughts are that it's a big advantage to "speak both languages". you need to know the technical and be able to describe what you're doing in technical terms, but for the most part musicians are not engineers - they're musicians, and as such they speak their own language. An engineer is able to communicate with them much easier if they know the language. "Let's take it from the coda..." works a lot better than saying "uh, can we take it from near the end? You know, where you play that da da dah dum dee part?"

I'd be interested in hearing about your recording experiences with engineers who had no musical training or playing skills. How did the session go?

Thanks everyone.

Phil O'Keefe

Sound Sanctuary Recording

Riverside CA http://members.aol.com/ssanctuary/index.html

email: pokeefe777@msn.com

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

well i assume you are taking the producer out of the scenario here and the engineer isnt doing double duty. an engineer really only needs the love of music and appreciation for sound and the ability to work the tools of his trade [and preferably how to build them orat least work on them] to do his job properly. everything else is just icing on the cake.

besides, being on the job long enough will let any fool learn what minimal musispeak means and where to go in the song.

in reality though there are all kinds of jobs for all kinds of people and most usually know their limits. in the studio, you are a team and the bands should be on the same page as the guy capturing their music just as they should be on the same page as the guy sculpting the music.

alphajerk

FATcompilation