Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

DRUM MACHINES

Any precautions with using drum/rhythm machines, such as picking up bad habits that may present problems when playing others? I'm considering picking up a Alesis SR-16, I've goofed around with one a the local music store, but don't really know a lot about them. I've heard good and bad from friends, but I thought I'd solicit outside my circle. Any input would be appreciated.

Morigeau

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I play Bass. I've been playing at it for about 10 yrs, but really have gotten serious the last year. Like a lot of the posters I'm setting up a studio in the home, rehearse during the week and play on weekends. This weekend though I'm in the salt mines. Just can't keep my mind on the work though. So I stick my head into the forum occasionally.

well as a person who grew up learning to play the piano to a metronome, the drum machine is a godsend for working on your chops. it gets your timing rock solid and there whenever you want to play.

i love my drum sounds and sequencer. i have probably spend way to many hours doodling along to it on guitar.

alphajerk

FATcompilation

"if god is truly just, i tremble for the fate of my country" -thomas jefferson

I have the SR-16, and use it extensively in my studio. The factory preset patterns are terrible, but the drum sounds are fantastic. Spend some time tweaking the sounds and create and save your own drumset, then take the time to program in your own patterns. It may seem a little time consuming at first, but it will be worth it in the long-run.

Once you get used to programming it (which isn't hard at all), you will find it easy to create entire songs that don't sound like just a repeating pattern.

Scott

(just another cantankerous bastard)