Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Ready for music again?

Hi Folks:

Well, it has been a dizzying few weeks, has it not. Here in the New York area, people are still staggering about. Some of us are trying to get back into the flow, others -- after keeping these horrible events at bay for a while -- are just now getting hit with their first wave of shock.

Personally, I'm just beginning to feel like making some music again. Some of the time, I think about the Twin Towers when I'm playing, but other times, I'm back to where I was before these horrible events happened. That personal creative space is a safe one -- safer than I ever realized before.

I was wondering what others were experiencing. How do you feel about music now (your own or the music of others)? Does it make you feel comforted? Sad? Strong? Guilty?

All of the above?

Best to all of you

Emile Menasche

• 1 month later...

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

...I felt really weird about even listening to music for a good couple of weeks after Sept. 11th. I felt as though I had no right to indulge in any happiness with so much suffering in my own backyard. After some soul searching, I decided it was time to move on. Which isn't to say I'm forgetting about the victims and their families. Or, the thousands of innocents in afganistan who will suffer a horrible fate, too. But I concluded that I am still here for a reason. And to not move on would be doing injustice to myself and the victims. So, empowered is the best way to descibe how making music always has, and always will make me feel. ~nel

ps...I never noticed this forum before and was drawn to your location of mahopac, ny. I grew up in Yorktown Hts. and went on many school outings to the mahopac petting zoo (off rt 6 (?). Small world, eh?