Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Head Combination

djarrett

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

On my sonors I have pinstripes with ambassador clears on the bottoms.

I have had everything on those things but now I'm getting a great big ol' thick crunchy tone with that sonor "pow" for attack...but I'm a rock/fusion drummer. I have an aquarian single ply on the kick with a remo falam pad or whatever the hell they call them.

On my "sner" I have a CS clear dot with a rennaissance bottom head. Everyone thinks I'm weird, but I love the combo.

my yamadogs (club customs) I have bear stadium heads with some cheapo coated evans on the bottoms...those heads scream...sorta like a coated head on steroids...I didn't like them at first but I got used to them and on that kit they work nice.

my yamaha snares I just keep coated whatevers...I have an vinnie appice aquarian on my one brass rock snare that is different....my manu has a coated ambassador I think...nice drum that one.

I typically use Coated Ambassadors on the batter side of the toms, and either clear ambassadors, or clear diplomats on the bottoms depending on thw situation. Ambassaors for live, Diplomats for recording.

Wood snare drums, i tend to use coated ambassadors and again, depending on the situation either a snare side ambassador or diplomat. Metal drums i usually use a coated PowerStroke III on the batter side - except on an Ayotte Kiplinger with Wood hoops - that drum is pretty mellow on the overtones. This said, I do try new brands and styles of heads on a semi-regualr basis, but keep coming back to the standards.

I have tried Evans G1 coated on toms - they were kinda cool, but didn't age very well in my opinion. I have also tried Attack Med thin coated on toms, and kinda liked those - real cheap too!