Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Just test drove a Line 6 LD175

jar546

OK, so I am new to the bass but learning quickly. My dilema, if you want to call it that is buying my first official amp setup whether it be a combo or separate units.

I have agonized over what I actually need. I have a small Kustom in the house that I use to plug my headphones into. But what happens after I progress? What will I do with my new found love and improving skills as my confidence builds?

Knowing that I am a "newbie" means to me that I am not in a hurry to get an amp setup just yet. I have plenty of practice amp time in front of me. It is probably the fact that I am looking for a particular sound that is sending me out to the stores to test drive and getting bored with my 10w practice amp. You can only get so much out of 10w as if you don't already know that. So,....what to do.....that is the question.

So far I test drove the Hartke models, a nice Yorkville, Fender Rumble 100, Ashdown and most recently the Line 6 LD 175. The store that I go to has them all and have been pushing the Hartke. They do carry Mesa but I just can't see me buying a Mesa setup as a new guy. You can have all the fancy gear you want but it is all useless unless you can play.