Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Building up a PA

josh a

Hello, all.

I am considering building up a PA, for band use, rehearsal's, anything I can find a use for it for.

Anyhoo, I have been thinking that I will build two Omni 10\'s . I will use them for vocals, and run the drums, bass and guitar (475watt, and 100w, respectively). It will be for small, "underground" gigs. A bit of fun.

If I ever need to move to a bigger situation, I will make some Titan 39\'s , or 48\'s .

Then I would run the full band through the system or something.

On to the mixer and power amp. I understand that I need a mixer and a power amp or a powered mixer. (I also realize that I could have a load of other goodies, not sure what, but I think they are uneccessary for a vocal PA, especially as I am just a beginner) I think it would be better to get a mixer and a power amp so that I can upgrade and change as and when. I think I will need an 8 channel mixer to start off with (say, 3 vox, then if I ever ran the band through have 1 for guitar, 1 for bass, and 3 for drums [kick, snare, over head]). I am not sure what size power amp I would need. If I could get hold of some Eminence Basslite S2010 speakers (I cannot find these in the UK, anyone have a link? Or any info about importing some?) I would have 600 watts. Would I want a 1000watt power amp? 500watt?

Also, the Omni 10's are 4 ohms each, so 2 ohms together. I'm not sure what ohm the Titans are, they use one speaker so I assume its about 8 ohms. This would mean the overall ohmage is very low, lower than I've ever seen a power amp handle.

Thanks for reading all this, and here goes the fundamental questions:-

1. Does the two Omni 10's as a vocal PA sound a good idea?

2. Is an 8 channel mixer a good idea? What brands do you recommend?

3. What size power amp should I get? What brands do you recommend?

4. How would I add in the Titan subs?

5. Is there anything I've forgotten?