Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

New Amp or New Bass

RayRay451

Hey Everyone,

I check out the board often but don't post very much. I see how everyone is pretty helpful so I'd like to get your input on something. I'm looking to start playing for my church soon so here's my dilemma - do I go after a new amp or upgrade to a new bass. I've been playing for about five/six years now, no gigging, just playing for the fun of it.

I have a Warwick Rockbass (which I love and suits my purposes currently) and a practice amp as well as some other toys but I don't have "serious" equipment since I've been pursuing my playing as a hobby so far. The church has some equipment so a new amp isn't required at the moment. I don't intend to gig around outside of church so I'm not quite sure how to proceed. Most players I see have some more high end basses and I suspect they may stand up better to Sunday/Wednesday/Friday playing.

I'm not a big gear freak... I mean, don't get me wrong, I drool over gear like the next player does. Still, I try to curb my urges as I have to get my budget requests past the Minister of Finance a.k.a my wife. ;)

ANY wisdom you could put out there would help!

RayRay

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi, & welcome!!

If it were me, I'd do a couple of gigs with what was there & see if it works out, or what is lacking, then I'd be able to make a better estimation of requirements - but on the face of it, I can't imagine that the bass you already have is Not Good Enough!

So I'd be inclined to be doing some pre-thinking about amplification - maybe a nice little 2x10 combo would be useful both at Church & at home?

Geoff

"When the power of love overcomes the love of power the World will know Peace": Jimi Hendrix

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=738517&content=music

The Geoff - blame Caevan!!!