Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Do you mute with your left when you are tapping with the right?

DavidMPires

Hey guys

I am just getting started on this tapping thing.

I've chosed "always with me, always with you" by Satriani, I've already played that song but without tapping, but this time I want to make it sound like Stu does.

Well question is this:

When you are tapping with your right hand do you mute with your left one? I found dificult to have an even sound if I do not mute.

Also do you apply many strenght to tap? Or is just a matter of time until you get used to it?

Thanks everyone.

www.myspace.com/davidbassportugal

"And then the magical unicorn will come prancing down the rainbow and we'll all join hands for a rousing chorus of Kumbaya." - by davio

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

David,

No answer for you - sorry. But you might want try posting this on the Guitar Forum too. Most of us here do very little tapping (I only use it for the odd double-stop or special effect).

Something tells me a guitarist might be able to give you an applicable answer.

To be honest, I rarely think about muting (it just happens). Try whatever works best for you. I probably do mute while tapping but I'd have to chack whil playing when I get home. I think most tappers alternate between the tapped right hand note and a held left hand note on the same string((effectively muting) (cool on fretless as you can slide one or both of the notes).

I found this:

http://www.basstappingtechnique.com/

I wouldn't buy it but I'd watch the videos if it was something I was trying to do.

Try this (maybe more useful)

http://www.cliffengel.com/bass_lessons/online/free_bass_lessons/tapping/tapping_introduction/

My guess is, you need to mute.

As to strengh: it's often better to turn up and play softer but ask someone who does this regularly -hence the guitar forum

Good suggestions, Phil.