Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How many strings on your dream bass?

BassPIMP

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If you read some old posts, you'd find that you have no where enough choices for your poll. We have discussed this topic ad nauseum and there are many options.

I don't have a dream bass....or maybe I should say that's because I already own 4, 5, and 6 string basses that I am very happy with.

My dream is to have 12 basses, starting with a one string bass and ending up with a 12 string bass. I've got all of them picked out already

except for the 9 string and the 11 string...I'm still trying to decide how I would tune those.

Well I voted 5 because I've been playing one for 2 years now, and I love the feel of it. But there's nothing I do on the 5 that I wouldn't be able to do on a 4, and despite the awkwardly slim neck, I do feel comfortable playing a 4 when needed.

That said, I'm looking into buying a "better" fretless than the one I have now, and I'm seriously leaning towards a 6, just for the heck of it :D

"I'm a work in progress." Micky Barnes

The Ross Brown Shirt World Tour

Between a 4 and a 5, I'd say a 5. Lots of Eb's when I play with the schools jazz band, a low one would be preferred. Also, if I'm playing in Bb in the middle of the neck, then I have to shift around quite a bit to hit G's and F's.

Then again, the high C would also be tempting. I <3 harmonics and when I get musical ideas in my head I usually voice them through upper-register chordal stuff, so that would probably help a lot.

Sounds like I need a 6 :)

Originally posted by BassPIMP:

I was having a discussion with a fellow bass player over whether four strings are better than five strings. So i decided to create this poll and collect more opinions.