Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Take a work sabbatical to pursue music education?

DJ-Wood

I am thinking of taking three months off work next year to enroll at Bass Tech in the UK. I am 29 years old, and I expect to have paid off all debts (from my previous stint in art education!) by this time next year.

I would be interested in hearing any pros and cons that any of you can think of. I would have to save enough money to cover three months off work (unpaid), plus the course tuition fees. I've never done anything like this before (when I was a student before, I had a grant plus student loan).

The amount of money could be used in other ways (I could put down the deposit to buy a home, or use the money to go travelling.)

I want to do this simply because I think I would enjoy it, and I do not expect to generate any income from it (I have no delusions of walking away with a recording contract etc.) I do expect to meet very committed people who I can learn intensely with in a professional way.

Has anyone else out there done anything similar to this who could share some experience?

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Have you thought of doing a shorter course, up to a week or two long, to see what value you could realistically put on an extended version of the same?

Although I am self-taught when it comes to music, I believe in learning anything that it takes time to really get to grips with new ideas and internalise them. In my opinion this makes regular lessons with sufficient space in between, to both practise and apply the concepts in the real world, a more effective approach.

Could you learn more by throwing yourself in the deep end at some jam sessions?

Just some thoughts...

Alex

Hi Alex,

For about a year and a half I was studying on a Saturday class in bass musicianship, and often found myself thinking 'I'd like to do this everyday' - just to stretch myself over an extended period.