Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Ever have one of those days....

UTS-D

Here's the skinny on my situation...

I've been playing bass for 17 years now. Am I good? People say I'm good and I say I'm alright. So last night I was at practice and I couldn't play on time to save my life. I was a train wreck. The experience left me so beside myself. I felt like I was 15 again and just learning. I went to bed stressed out about it and by 4:45am I was in the bathroom puking because I just so stressed out. And today hasn't a picnic either. This morning I was so tempted to call in sick and just play bass all day long to make up for the 2 hours of hell last night.

Have any of you older players ever experience anything like this? This feeling I have is like a void or something. I've been counting the hours to leave work and go play.

:evil:

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I don't think anybody here would consider me an "older player" (I'm 21) but I've been playing for about 10 years now and I (as well as every other musician on Earth) have my share of off days...sometimes followed by a day off.

Some practices just suck. All you can do is grit your teeth and do the best you can until it's over. Some shows are like that as well. There's no use in getting stressed about it though...that doesn't do any good. I count the minutes at work and during my classes in college until I can go back to my room and play. My room mate (my drummer) and I keep a countdown going every week till band practice.

Depending on the kind of person you are it might do you some good to go practice some more or it might be better to take a day or two off and chill out/recuperate.

Remember what the urologist says..."This too shall pass."

Welcome to the Lowdown :wave: Ironically, I had a similar day to yours. No band practice, just me and my Ibanez*, up in my room ...