Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Easy songs to sing and play bass that people actually like to hear

HypnoBassMan

Hi Group,

I have been away from the forum for awhile, been really busy at work and my new band broke up (acually I refused to play with a drunk for a guitarist and a singer who was angry all the time).

So now I am trying to put something new together. As I've seen it so far (and I'm pretty new to the bass) it seems to go like this, "He or she who sings gets to pretty much decide what songs will be played." And I have to admit that this makes sense since if the singer can't sing the song then there ain't much sense in doing the song.

So, I've decided to take more responsibility for singing, and I have never done this before (except for some very small parts in the background). So my question is, I need some advice, and I would like to hear about songs that are:

1. Rather easy to play and sing at the same time.

2. Rather easy to sing, and doesn't require a great voice (i.e., not much of a range).

3. And, finally that people would actually like to hear it performed (i.e., even want to dance to it).

I am mostly interested in pop/rock songs from the 60's, 70's or 80's.

HypnoBassMan

The deeper you go the better you feel! (True for bass and hypnosis.)

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There are lots of pop/rock songs where the bass is playing 8ths on the root of each chord. Even I manage to play and sing those tunes, although you wouldn't want to hear me sing :)

For more complex grooves it's vital to practice ultra-slowly, until you've learned the rhythm that's going on "between" bass and vocals.

The easiest song that comes to my mind would be With Or Without You (U2). Sting's Every Breath You Take is also manageable, although it's freaking high (especially the bridge section).

Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.

-- Leonardo da Vinci