Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

switching to upright

hollywood_steve

Although it is expensive, impractical, and just a general pain in the ass, I really want to make the switch to playing upright. My main concern isn't the cost, or wondering how to transport the damn thing, but the fact that I've been playing electric for 25 years and my fingering habits are second nature by now. How the heck do you teach yourself not to use certain "wrong" fingerings when they have been part of your playing for so long?

steve

lex125@pacbell.net

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Good luck with your switch!

You really should take lessons.....technique is way more important on upright than it is on electric.

It's a very physical instrument and you want good habits so you don't hurt yourself.

After you try playing moveable scale fingerings using all four fingers on your left hand, you won't worry about transferring your electric bass habits.

I have an audition with a "Rockabilly" group this weekend. And I was just asking about an acoustic/electric bass last week. And they want me to play an upright! Oh s**t! :confused:

Vince

"Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up." ~ Pablo Picasso

Yep, they are right.

The physical demands of the instrument preclude electric fingering. And get a teacher.

If you try to play an URB with electric fingering, you will be very disappointed and out of tune.

The tried and true book is the Simandl book; use the Carl Fisher publication (not the International.)

I also advise that you learn URB with the bow. Bow technique is difficult for a beginner, but you really can't hear the pizz notes well enough to learn how to play in tune.

"Let's raise the level of this conversation" -- Jeremy Cohen, in the Picasso Thread.

Still spendin' that political capital far faster than I can earn it...stretched way out on a limb here and looking for a better interest rate.