Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Adding A Jaco Tune..Is It Pretentious?

Edendude

On my suggestion we're going to be adding 'Come On, Come Over' from Jaco's first solo album, to our band's rep. I want to add it because I really dig the groove, and it'll fit in perfectly with the rest of our blues, funk, Motown, and R&B material.

That's cool, right? Just worried it might be viewed as pretentious by some. Not that I should give a shit really, I suppose.

Any of you guys play any of Jaco's material in your regular repertoire?

Just curious.

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

As a fellow bassist I would not consider this pretensious at all... if I heard a band do this at a bar or club I would be rather impressed....

Like you said ..if anybody has a problem with it... too bad...

www.danielprine.com

Great choice! I love that song and you're right, it does have a great groove.

I think if you're playing the song because you love it or as a tribute of some kind, then no worries.

If you're playing it for the "look at me" factor, then "get your hand off it".

If you like the song do the song, unless you feel you can't do it somewhere near to the way you would wish your rendition to be. People who have a problem with it, well... it's a song, right? It deserves to be shared, and it deserves to be learned from.

Best of luck doing it! : }

Sometimes you muthas are just so damn cool and encouraging.

:thu::D

P.S...

Definitely not for the 'look at me' factor. One of the reasons I became a bass player, is because I'm all about playing for the tunes and not to feed my ego. And I like the idea that 'Come On, Come Over' is Jaco's homage to his own R&B roots. Or at least that's how I interpret that tune.

But I will confess to wanting to do it in part to pay homage to one of my all time favorite musicians and influences. No shame in that, me thinks.

I'm with everybody else. Play the song.