Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Head/Cab Ohm/wattage question

jasonmassacre

Hello, I was wondering if someone could help me with a head and cabinet question. I have been playing bass for about 3 years and have always used a combo amp. I've decided to upgrade to a separate head and cabinet. I bought a BEHRINGER BX3000T HEAD (300 watts / takes 4 Ohms), and a GALLIEN-KRUEGER 410SBX (400 watts / 8 Ohm) CABINET w/Horn.

My question is if I have to worry about frying anything, or popping speakers. I've played it a handfull of times. I've had the Gain up at the half way point, and the output a bit more than half way. That sucker is loud compared to my Fender Bassman 100 combo, and I just don't really know how loud is too loud. Should I worry about damaging the head - or the cabinet/speakers...

Any input would be great. The Head manual said it's to be used with a cabinet output of 4 Ohm, and mine is 8 Ohm. I am going to buy a 15" GK rated at 400 watts/ 8 Ohms, so I assume the 2 8 Ohms running paralell will give me the 4 Ohms for the head... but how about the wattage. 2 400 watt cabs to my 300 watt head... will I blow anything up? How does the wattage work? Any info on how this works, and if i'm in danger of overloading something would be really appreciated. Thank you in advance.

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The short answer is that you'll be fine.

Conventional wisdom suggests you should have more power (your amp) than your cabinets are rated.

If, for example, you have a combination of cabinets that are rated a total of 800 watts at 4 ohms, one might suggest having an amp rated at 1,000-1,600 watts at 4-ohms.

That said, the stated ratings on most amplifiers and cabinets are suspect. If it's working, don't mess with it.

Just make sure you don't boost the bass frequencies too much (if you want a bassier sound, cut the treble) and you don't push the gain or master output to a clipping level.