Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Way OT - A Hurricane Story

JBFLA

Called up my best friend tonight - been putting it off, I knew it would be bad news. His house was bad off after Hurricane Francis. I knew it would be a Pile On after Hurricane Jeanne.

Let me tell you about Ric:

Hes a good ol boy, FLA Cracker. Never one to take advantage - if he can make do, he will. Aint nobody gonna give him nothing...IF he cant earn it himself. Proud as all get out, works as hard as a man can - will work even harder if the family needs. Hed bust his butt for me or anyone else that he felt would do the same. His wife and family are an extension of him. If they can help, theyll be there with armloads of whatever you need. Just, really, really, decent folk.

But, I know him best as a guitarist and singer. After 30+ years as a musician, I dont know that Ive ever worked with someone who pulled notes (guitar-wise or vocally) from the depths of their soul like he does. As a bassist (and singer), he forces me to be my best at every show - no matter the size or attendance. He has that...strength, that charisma, that ability, that talent. He is (in my humble opinion and experience) the best musician I know. It is a joy working with, and knowing, him.

So:

Most of his house is in ruins after Hurricane Frances. Ric sees it as a chance to make what he has (not much) better, post-storm. "This" will now be up to code, "That" will be better in case of another hurricane...Ever the optimist - he sees the positive side of a bad situation.

Hurricane Jeanne hits - the same area as Frances, the same folks, worse end result. We havent seen two Hurricanes hit here in the same place in decades. As well prepared as we could possibly be, we could never be prepared for this anomaly.

"Ric? - How are you"?

"Its all gone - the house, everything. We bought this place 4 months ago...its all gone."

"Are yall OK?"