Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

When is it time to move on? (teacher question)

dohhhhh6

Hello, I've been being taught by the same bass teacher for the last almost 2 years, and I'm wondering if it's time to move on.

Right now, all I'm learning are new songs. I mean, it's partly my fault that we're not moving on, but I think I need a more driving type of teacher to help with self motivation.

My old piano teachers taught out of an old, boring excercise book. Piano already was boring to me, so that didn't help. When I came to this guy, I liked that he wanted me to play things that I wanted to play. He threw some lessons into it as well.

He's taught me the 5 degrees of pentatonics, how to read charts, a ton of chordal theory, how to tap, slap, and fingerstyle, and many upon many tunes. Do you think I should keep on tapping him for more knowledge? He's read several books and always gives me his own, down-to-earth take on the things he teaches me. In the way he connects, he's a wonderful teacher.

But again, I always have to come to him to teach me something, a lot of times I need to be specific. I think possibly that a more driving teacher would exclude that and making things a bit more teaching and learning and less doodling.

So what's your take? Should I try to curb things or take the route out?

Thanks for the help guys.

In Skynyrd We Trust

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by Da LadY In Tha Pink Dress:

I think I need a more driving type of teacher to help with self motivation.

Interesting position with regard to self-motivation. :confused:;)

My old piano teachers taught out of an old, boring excercise book. Piano already was boring to me, so that didn't help. When I came to this guy, I liked that he wanted me to play things that I wanted to play. He threw some lessons into it as well.