Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I broke one of my machine heads (tuning peg)

Connie Z

I am a horrible person. :(

I was doing a foolish thing, by attempting to tune my bass to the song I was listening to on the radio, and apparently... I was tuning too high, and all of a sudden... snap. :o

I thought I had broken a string (which I've never done before), but was then mortified to find out that it was actually the peg part of the tuning knob that broke. :eek: It kind of 'sheared' off.

It is an Ibanez GSR200. I have ordered a new Ibanez machine head from my local music store, but I am wondering if I should replace them all with something better, that won't break.

What do you think? Your suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

My first rehearsal with my new band is in two days. Luckily my guitar player has a bass that he is bringing with him.

Thanks so much... connie z

"Change comes from within." - Jeremy Cohen

The definition of LUCK: When Preparation meets Opportunity!

http://www.cybergumbo.com

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Wow. That's pretty impressive. What were you listening to? Did it feature Stanley Clarke on a piccolo bass? :)

Well, if you take it in to a local store, they can probably tell you if the holes on the headstock will accept some standard sized tuning machines. If so, then you can take your pick. Most any decent ones you buy, if they're some sort of reputable name (Gotoh, for example) will probably be a marked improvement from what was on there stock. I've found that some less expensive basses (like the Squire P-bass I'm holding now) tend to have plastic or some kind of polymer machine heads, coated with chrome paint. I wouldn't guess those kinds of heads would stand up to too much excess tension.