Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

equipment question, oh boy!

Wademeister

I looked throught the topics already, but I didn't really see what I was looking for so here goes. I have an Ibanez EDB 605 bass, not sure if the exact one makes a difference, but it is a 5 string. I've seen a few times people mention using a 1X15 setup for the 5's rather than a 2x10, so I have that in mind. Even so, my SWR workingman 2004 and workingman's 2 X 10T didn't make me very happy with the 4 string when I had the chance to crank it up. The thing just goes all fluttery or floppy or something when it's loud.

I'm new to playing bass and live in an apartment, so I haven't had a lot of opportunity to play loud so far-so fart...I made a funny, hehehe. Ahem.

So anyway...Messing around even quietly at home I can hear some rattling at certain frequencies. Maybe around the 5th to 8th fret on the A string. Nothing major, sounds like something loose maybe but I can't find anything loose. The speakers look fine and seem to work fine. I even took everything apart looking for loose screws or anything like that. It's all solid.

SWR is supposed to be a good brand from what I've read, so I'm thinking it didn't do this when it was new. Or did it? Why would they match up a 4 ohm amp with an 8 ohm cabinet anyway? Could that be where the trouble lies? Or is the amp screwed up somehow? I just really would like some advice as to how to get set up so I can play loud enough to be heard at a band practice including a live drummer and no PA. I don't think that's happening right now since the guitar player I jammed with completely drowned me out with his 40 amp Hotrod deluxe 1X12 combo amp on about 3 or 4. And of course I want it to sound GOOD at the same time. Would adding another 8 ohm 2 X 10 fix me up? New speakers in my cab? New amp head? I just don't know which way to go and buying a whole new rig is way too expensive right now.

• Replies 16
  • Created