Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Advice on upright strings?

Snowdog79

Yes, I know this quesiton has been run into the ground on most bass forums. And yes, I know that string choice is a very personal matter, varying greatly from person to person and instrument to instrument. However, I'm not going to let that stop me from taking up bandwidth picking everyone's brain here....heh heh heh...

So I finally have the funds to restring my double bass, and I'm looking for string suggestions. I've got some old D'Addarios on it right now that have served me well for quite a long time, and I've been happy with them. However, I'm curious about other string options.

I play mostly pizz jazz and rock gigs on this bass. I do play arco at my rock gigs occasionally, and during my lessons. I'm also studying the usual canon of classical solo bass playing, in an attempt to further better myself as a human being.

In short, I play too many different f#*@ing styles, and can only afford one bass, a 1982 Romanian flatback that sounds way better than it should.

Any recomendations on strings that 'do it all'? I mostly want a solid, easily amplified sound for my rock and jazz gigs. I'm using an underwood pickup and a fishman ProEQ-2 preamp, if that makes a difference. My only real complaint with my (very very) old D'Addarios is that the A string is quite dead. Any suggestions? I want to pick them up this week and slap 'em on so they have time to settle in before a recording session with my rock band.

Thanks all!

~Jeremy

www.collinherring.com

www.galenjeter.com

~Jeremy Hull

hullbass@gmail.com

www.myspace.com/Jeremyhull

www.myspace.com/cowpunkHolyMoly

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I really like Corelli 370 strings as one that can "do it all"; the following description is from my string sales web page: