Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Why did you choose the bass?

tarkus

I play a many different instruments, but I consider myself a bass player first. I started playing bass in college. I had played guitar mostly and was quite good. I had began my music training at the age of 8 on piano and drums when I was 11. Guitar popped in when I was 13. I taugh myself guitar in order to communicate with the other musicians in the band. You can't translate notes or riffs on drums. It was easier grabbing a guitar and showing the guitarists what you meant.

In my freshamn year at college, I had to take electives. Group instramental music. My prof tricked me into playing bass. "This class is for music majors to experience other instruments." I bought the story. I realized that the oboe player was primarily an oboe player and the flute player was a flute player etccc....

The prof was also the band director and was in need of a bassist. I borrowed an unfretted (the frets were ripped out ala Jaco) Masada imitation P-bass (ugghh!). It was terribly s-bowed, but I learned bass clef. I realized the bass helped me as a guitar player. Much to the annoyance of my prof, I refused to play bass in the school band. I was a guitarist -- or so I thought.

I didn't pick up the bass again until 5 years later. A band I was in had lost it's bass player and we were auditioning different people. On the days when the auditionee could't get it right, I would have to stand in. "Why don't you play bass full time?" But I was better than the other guitarists. But it made sense.

I realised that the demand for bass players were exceeding guitarist almost 10 fold. Sure I still play a little guitar, but mostly bass and keys these days, and happy to be part of the community.

How about you?

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply