Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

RBX765A Excessive String Clacking

Tenstrum

I just got an RBX765A and it plays great! My only problem is that I'm getting a lot of really excessive clacking whenever I play (yes, I'm a finger stylist and a Steve Harris freak!!!!). I anchor off of the neck pickup and I play pretty hard, but even playing lighter still produces the excessive clacking and its not my style. I've tried lowering the pickup, but it really won't go any further down. Anyone got any advice on how to prevent all the noise? Any kind of "pickup cover" or something? I really need to cut the noise down.

Tenstrum

"Paranoid? Probably. But just because you're paranoid doesn't mean there isn't an invisible demon about to eat your face."

Harry Dresden, Storm Front

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Truss rod adjustment would be my guess at a fix. Sounds like you need a touch more relief in the neck.

I play the same style as you (fingerstyle with my thumb anchored on the neck pickup), I have very heavy guage strings and low action. I get the same effect as you if I play too hard, but you can fine tune things very precisely with a little bit of truss rod adjustment, I find.

Originally posted by Tenstrum:

I've tried lowering the pickup, but it really won't go any further down.

Try taking the pickup right out - it may be that there's more foam/rubber/bigger springs under it than you need. Remove the excess padding and you should be able to lower the pickup further.

If that doesn't work you could try heavier gauge (i.e. higher tension) strings (how about the Steve Harris set?), getting pickup covers without holes for the polepieces and sticking the existing pickups in them (only possible if you can separate the electronics and plastic cover on your existing pickups) or getting new pickups with hidden polepieces.

Or just change you technique - concentrate on plucking parallel to the body rather than down onto it.

Alex