Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

looking for a five string

jluckie3

ok so i am looking for a five sting bass to add to my arsenal (the d-dropper on my p-bass is no longer cutting it i need that low b) i like a lot of the older warwicks that i have played, and i also think that the roscoe beck V kicks ass. any suggestions? your input is appreciated.

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have an older Warwick Thumb 5 and love it. I had a great '92 stingray5 as well. Alhtough, if you are looking to spend more there could be something else you might like more. Those 2 were and are very good to me.

K

You might also look here : click on "Gear," then scroll down to "5-string shootout." It's a few years old, but should still be relevant.

I just bought my first 5, a Yamaha BB605, a very nice active 5-string for a very low price. Although I've no experience with them, I doubt very much you could go wrong with an older Warwick (davebrownbass, e.g., simply swears by them) or a Beck V (wow, that sound sample on the Fender site is dishy!!). Myself, the fivers in that sort of price range that intrigue me most at present are the Carvin LB75 or BB75 , the Musicman Stingray 5 , and the Yamaha BB2005 .

ive heard that ibanez srx necks are pretty fast, but i dont know first hand

"I'm thinkin' we should let bump answer this one...

Prepare to don Nomex!"

-social critic

"When I install my cannons, I'm totally going to blast their asses back to the 16th century; Black Beard style"

-bumpcity

I bought a Peavy Cirrus 5-string and I couldn't be happier. I didn't, however, leave the low B on there. I instead put a high C on making it a tenor five string. But as a bass, I am very happy with mine.

Let your speech be better than silence, or be silent.

For those who believe, no explanation is necessary. For those who do not, none will suffice.

"Rindase!"

"Rendirme? Que se rinda su abuela, *#@!^$"

Originally posted by BigKahuna855: