Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

My first conversation with Jeremy C.

bassdrummer

When I was newer and greener on this forum, I met someone who . . . well, how else can I say it? Someone who changed my life.

It was a turning point. More than that: It was a "Low" point! ;)

It was my first conversation with Jeremy C.

I have pasted it for you here. Read. Learn.

Enjoy.

bd: means that I'm talking.

jc: means that He's talking.

-----------------

(The thread topic was "Simple Bass Parts and Bass Players We Love")

bd:

Adam Clayton - U2

Nate Mendel - Foo Fighters

Great groovers.

Question: Who played bass on "My City Was Gone" by The Pretenders? I love that bass line.

. . .

jc:

When you learned the "My City Was Gone" bass line, did you learn the mistakes in it note-for-note?

Adam Clayton is definitely an example of right-place-right-time. He was a complete beginner when he joined that band. He still plays like a complete beginner. It annoys me that now he does it on a collection of vintage axes.

Maybe you think that his bass parts are perfect for the songs. And that the Edge actually knows how to play more than one note at a time. What is the big deal with this band?, there's nothing musical at all going on that I can hear.

. . .

bd:

Cool, a completely different opinion. I do think Clayton's parts are perfect for the songs. I love what he played back then and what he plays now. And I'm a beginner. I'm a drummer who, along with many other drummers (according to Modern Drummer magazine) appreciates the way Clayton locks in with Larry Mullen Jr.

Remember, I'm a beginner. I haven't yet learned how to play "My City Was Gone." But I'm working on it! (Mistakes in the bass line? I guess I wouldn't know! )