Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Euipment Advice for a Guitarist Turned Bassist.

Dank

I have been playing guitar for about 35 years, have played in several working bands and have had great fun. I spend more time at home now in my home studio, and I want to start recording more bass lines on my own. I own a Hofner '62 reissue violin bass and will soon purchase a Ric 4001C64S (I'm a Beatles nut!). I want a good all around bass and amp for classic rock and acoustc guitar music (no interest in punk, grunge etc.). I have my eye on a Fender American Deluxe Precision since it has the humbucker pickup and The Fender Bassman 200 watt combo (or possibly, SWR Super Redhead?). Has anyone had any experience with either this bass or amp? Is this bass a jack of all trades but master of none? Am I better off with just a Precision or a Jazz bass? What is the tonal difference? Thanks for any advice you can give. Dan.

Taylor K65CE

Froggy Bottom F-12

Martin D-41

Huss & Dalton OM Custom

Charis SJ Brazilian/Red Western Cedar

Taylor XXX-BE

'59 Les Paul Reissue

Peter Frampton Les Paul

'62 Jazz Bass Reissue

Gibson J-160e

Hofner '62 Bass

Ric 350V63

Ric 360v64/12

Ric 4001VP Fireglo

Gretsch '62 Tennessean Rose

Grtesch '62 County Gentleman SP

Epi John Lennon Revolution

Godin Mlutiac

Anderson Hollow Classic Drop Top Custom

PRS Custom 22 10 Top

G&L ASAT Classic

G&L Comanche Butterscoth Flame

'57 Fender Strat Reissue

Eric Clapton Strat

40th Anniv. Fender Start

'76 Strat

'61 SG Reissue

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Can't go wrong with an American Standard P-Bass or a Jazz Bass. A Jazz has two pickups, which gives you a more versatile sound the same way a Strat does over a Tele.