Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

NEED BASS HELP PLEASE!!?

mulletsavant

Hi all, I've been playing guitar for about 4 years, just taught myself chords and covers. I just recently took up bass (got my bass 2 days ago)..Anyway I love it already..but I keep getting this nasty rattle on the first few fret notes on the thick E string, no matter how hard I hold it down (F, F#, and G especially)Is there some kind of bridge or string adjustment that I can do to help this????...or do you just have to hold it down like crazy?? All of my other fret and string played areas sound fine.....

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello Mulletsavant and welcome to the Lowdown!

Yes playing bass requires finger strength and accuracy. However, you shouldn't need a vise-like grip and in fact too much pressure will slow you down and tire you out.

You don't give us much info about your bass, but I would suggest that you take it to a luthier/repairman and have a proper setup done. Try to get the action as low as possible without buzzing and then evaluate your right hand attack, are you really digging in to the strings? If you play pickstyle are you hammering them? this can contribute to the problem. If you are and do not wish to work on a lighter attack then you will have to have your action set higher.

Please let us know more and we will be better able to help. :thu:

Nothing is as it seems but everything is exactly what it is - B. Banzai

Life is what happens while you are busy playing in bands.