Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Who play's bass for a living?

Tony Diez

I love playing the bass it's my release, but I don't do it for a living, in fact I don't personally know many bassist that soley play bass for a living.

I know there are some on this board, I'm just curious how many are out there that can say their livilyhood is the bass guitar. It must be hard, even if your a schooled, bad to the bone bassist. But I guess if your a studio musician there would be a little more consitant work. But anyway, just curious.

And if you don't play bass for a living what do you do? I'm a respiratory therapist.

Tony

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You made me think about this - I consider myself to be a bassist (I do more sessions than live dates). I also run a recording studio, where I engineer and produce. I also write articles and reviews for the audio trade magazines.

So I make a living as a bassist? Not solely as such anymore, but since a combination of all of my work is my living, being a professional bassist is certainly a part of that. In any case, it's not a hobby or just some extra money.

Dave Martin

Java Jive Studio

Nashville, TN

www.javajivestudio.com

Cuppa Joe Records

www.cuppajoerecords.com

I wish it could be my full time job. I really love writing and producing. Where I live it's hard to get noticed. I travel and get myself around as much as I can trying to get more consistant gigs, but you can only do so much. Dose anyone have any tips on how better to become a full time bassist?
I didn't come here to play. I came here to make babies.