Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

i want to change my 5 strings bass with a 6 strings one...

Sergiao

hi guys, what you think about 6 strings bass?

i'm not a great player, i'm studying with a great teacher, but i'm not a very good musician yet...

(sorry for my terrible english)

my question is:

6 strings bass, are only for expert bass player or i can start now from average level?

:wave:

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Sergiao, Welcome to the Lowdown!

You will get many different opinions on this subject. I would ask, What does your teacher say? He should be far more familiar with your skills than we are, and should be the person you should seek advice from.

However, I see no reason you could not / should not learn 6-string.

Nothing is as it seems but everything is exactly what it is - B. Banzai

Life is what happens while you are busy playing in bands.

Originally, I wanted a six myself, but am quite happy with my 5 string. Personally, apart from missing five extra notes, I'm fine with it. This should depend on what kind of music you play.

If you want to build up to doing really technical things, like doing chordal intervals, or tapping out Chapman Stick type lines, then perhaps a 6 string might be in order. However, I can do much of that with my 5, and have no trouble doing so.

If you only need the extra low end, stick with the five. Also, if your hands are too small to begin with, a six will complicate things. I can handle a six if I hold it correctly, though my hands are rather small (average Asian size), so at least with a five for now, I can build up my hands and be ready for when I can get a six.

While you can start out from an average level, if I were you, I'd wait until I gain the skills (and perhaps the money) necessary to handle a six string.

By the way, the little picture on the left is me playing around with my five string Yamaha RBX765A bass. :)

Welcome to the forums.