Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Introduction (& a question)

Petethebassman

Hi all, just joined LDL and I'd like to briefly

introduce myself: I'm 35 and I live in Helsinki, Finland and have been playing bass for 20 years now. I'm a student and I play 2-4 gigs per month; these days I'm playing blues/R&B/soul with one band and am also playing 60s/70s/80s rock in a cover band.

I'd like to start/join a band doing original

material again, but with 2 kids and my studies

it's kinda hard to find the time for it.

So, for now, this situation works fine for me:

I don't have to use too much time on rehearsals

and the gig money is a nice supplement to my

regular income. Besides, the other members are

all great players, so it's a lot of fun to play

with these guys, especially the drummer: he's

a full-time pro and I've played with him for

6 years now, and it just gets better, it's such

fun to lay down a solid groove with him and get

people off their asses and onto the dance

floor!

Now, to my question: my main bass is a

Precision with an EMG-P pickup, and I've been

thinking about replacing it with a passive

pickup to get a fatter, punchier and more

traditional tone. Specifically, I'm considering

a Seymour Duncan Quarter-Pound for my bass,

so any opinions are quite welcome (tonal

characteristics, suitability to different

music styles etc). "Traditional" is the

key word here, I definitely don't like crisp,

modern bass tones, my heroes are folks like

Duck Dunn, Chuck Rainey and David Hood, to

name a few. I've kept the same set of

Thomastik Jazz Rounds on my bass for 13 months,

and the tone just gets better, they sound

pretty groovy by now! :D

I guess that's all for now, later..

Pete

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply