Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Set-up questions...

Warlock1016

Just bought a Yamaha 5-string off E-bay (I can hear the abuse now... :D ) And it had dead spots all over the first four frets on every string. Couldn't play note one, even open notes.

I took a stab in the dark, and began adjusting the truss rod (took a lot of effort to get the bugger moving, I might add), and they mostly went away. I raised the saddle on the E and A strings, and for the most part, the buzz is gone. (I get a small buzz when I really hit the A string on the 4th fret). But the thing is at least playable now.

After looking at it, I'm wondering if I should have let it go, and taken it to a pro to make sure it was done right. the truss rod now turns pretty easily, and as I'm still learning things like that, it makes me a little nervous. Any advice on things to check, or should I just pop the cash for a tech to look at it?

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I usually say that one should learn as much as possible about the instrument; that includes the set-up technique. That being said, however, I'd definately let a good, recommended tech have a crack at it. Don't be embarrased abut screwing anything up, if you did. The tech is paid to fix things, not pass judgement on your skill.
...think funky thoughts... :freak:

Like I mentioned earlier off-board, let it "rest" for a few days since you really crankes down on the truss rod. Let it acclimate to our lovely humidity and balmy temperatures and see if that has any more effect on it. See what it does from there. You may need to tweak some more the other way since you put 3 full cranks on it. Since you have the 4th fret buzz, fret there and then take a sheet of paper and pass it between the string and the frets to find the buzz and to see if there is a high fret.

I'm trying to get that tech's number right now and I'll pass it along to you when I have it.